[ 2 ]
40% 40% 
[ 10 ]
52% 52% 
[ 13 ]

Total Votes : 25

What kind of player are you?

Post  Greywander on Fri Nov 09, 2012 5:44 am

First, let me state I'm still very new to roleplaying and don't have much experience. However, I am pretty big on theory, and I enjoy talking about game theory and discussing mechanics, so hopefully I won't be far from the mark here. Don't hesitate to share you own ideas on this subject.

Players, both the players themselves and the game master, as well as the particular rule system can be categorized in many different ways. Some are more details, dividing players types into dozens of different types. The player types I'm going to discuss here are only divided into three different philosophies:

Gamism - The Gamist views each situation as a challenge to be overcome within the rules of the Game. Above all else, they want to be challenged: if things are too easy they will start to get bored or unhappy. Gamists have the ability to abstract away from the situation at hand and treat it purely in terms of game mechanics. They prefer the rules to be clearly defined and to the point. At their best, Gamists will use their familiarity with the rules to assist new players, and can be easily motivated with a challenge. At their worst, they will ignore all other aspects of play and rush straight to the focus of the Game (typically combat, though it varies from system to system), to the point that it negatively affects the other players' enjoyment.