Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Page 2 of 40 Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 21 ... 40  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Ramsus on Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:59 pm

Yeah, I find myself in agreement with Fury here. There's not really any way you could use it more than once a turn, maybe twice, and that would be a huge pip cost. It's only an issue in solo fights which the system isn't designed for anyway.

Edit: That only works if the boss has only 1 turn and doesn't have a way to deal with stun. In other words... never happens.

Edit 2: Additionally, a dazing interrupt wouldn't really do anything resembling a stunning one. It wouldn't prevent or in any way lessen an attack, as if it requires minor actions, they were probably already used.
avatar
Ramsus
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 5688
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 33
Location : California

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Fury of the Tempest on Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:04 pm

Stairc -Dan Felder wrote:Dark Bargain/Trance + items with bonuses to save ends + lightning reflexes + Stunning Heron's Hoof+Defender = "I can permastun the boss guys, enjoy killing him".

Actually, you just need Perfect Focus instead of those moves & the items.
avatar
Fury of the Tempest
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 4116
Join date : 2012-09-22
Age : 23
Location : ENGLAND!!!!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Stairc -Dan Felder on Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:07 pm

With a player being able to completely shut down a boss' most powerful turns, the advantage you get is so massive that the encounter needs to be specifically weighted towards it. Just don't bother interrupting his [+] pip powers, interrupt his most devastating [-] pip powers. In order to stop this the boss needs to be weighted significantly to punish this strategy (indicating that it's worrisome) or just be ridiculously more powerful than otherwise.

Also, I'm not a fan of players or enemies just being able to purely say "no" very often. A lot of cool moves never get to happen then. I'd rather the players at least misdirected it so something explodes. Stopping one another form playing isn't nearly as much fun.

In short, this move is a holdover from the system when combat was intended to be more of a puzzle to be solved - with specific counters being good against specific things - rather than the fast-paced and creative place it is today. It is way too powerful against specific strategies. Sure, it's not as broken as the broken things in other systems - but I think that's just because we have higher standards.

Still, if people love the combat talent I'll take it for a playtest spin first and see how broken I can get it before changing anything.
avatar
Stairc -Dan Felder
Lead Designer
Lead Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 3092
Join date : 2012-07-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Ramsus on Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:29 pm

Well, I can't disagree with its potential for diminishing fun. Still, you shouldn't replace it with a move that does daze since, that's not at all the same (or really needed). Merely change it to something that isn't an interrupt. In fact, even just making it a Reaction would prevent that.
avatar
Ramsus
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 5688
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 33
Location : California

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  SilentBelle on Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:31 pm

Stairc -Dan Felder wrote:With a player being able to completely shut down a boss' most powerful turns, the advantage you get is so massive that the encounter needs to be specifically weighted towards it. Just don't bother interrupting his [+] pip powers, interrupt his most devastating [-] pip powers. In order to stop this the boss needs to be weighted significantly to punish this strategy (indicating that it's worrisome) or just be ridiculously more powerful than otherwise.

Also, I'm not a fan of players or enemies just being able to purely say "no" very often. A lot of cool moves never get to happen then. I'd rather the players at least misdirected it so something explodes. Stopping one another form playing isn't nearly as much fun.

In short, this move is a holdover from the system when combat was intended to be more of a puzzle to be solved - with specific counters being good against specific things - rather than the fast-paced and creative place it is today. It is way too powerful against specific strategies. Sure, it's not as broken as the broken things in other systems - but I think that's just because we have higher standards.

Still, if people love the combat talent I'll take it for a playtest spin first and see how broken I can get it before changing anything.

It's probably one of the few talents I've never seen any of my players take. It might work better if it cost [-3] and weakened instead and triggers for any enemy attack. (Spur of the moment idea)
avatar
SilentBelle
Monster Overseer
Monster Overseer

Gender : Male
Posts : 1162
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 30
Location : Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

View user profile http://www.fimfiction.net/user/SilentBelle

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Fury of the Tempest on Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:34 pm

Personally, I think its fine as it is. Its only really powerful in 1-being fights, and most of the games have more than one enemy, even boss fights normally have either their own allies or minions.
avatar
Fury of the Tempest
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 4116
Join date : 2012-09-22
Age : 23
Location : ENGLAND!!!!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Curunir on Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:04 am

I have a question about the wording of Mind over Matter

[-6] Mind over Matter - Standard Attack
Remove all save-ends effects from either yourself or target ally. Deal 1d12 damage to up to six creatures for each effect removed.

Do you deal 1d12 damage per effect to each of up to six targets, or do 1d12 damage to a number of targets (max 6) equal to the number of effects removed?
avatar
Curunir
Equestrian Honor Guard
Equestrian Honor Guard

Gender : Male
Posts : 870
Join date : 2013-01-18
Age : 26
Location : Virginia

View user profile http://turtlgandalf.deviantart.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Stairc -Dan Felder on Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:08 am

You deal Xd12 damage to up to 6 targets, where X is the number of effects removed.
avatar
Stairc -Dan Felder
Lead Designer
Lead Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 3092
Join date : 2012-07-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  thematthew on Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:17 pm

Just making sure, but if I have Sneak Attack
Sneak Attack wrote:Once per round, when you make a single target attack against a creature that is suffering from vulnerability, you may have that attack deal an additional 1d6 damage.

Does the additional damage apply to attacks that don't do damage, but still have a target, such as Grievous Wound?
Grievous Wound wrote:Choose one;
A) Target creature suffers 1d8 ongoing damage (save ends).
B) Roll a d8. If target creature is suffering from ongoing damage, increase that damage by half the result..

Edit: Also, shouldn't Blinding Soul have a duration?
avatar
thematthew
Equestrian Honor Guard
Equestrian Honor Guard

Gender : Male
Posts : 588
Join date : 2012-11-26
Age : 33

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  LoganAura on Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:11 pm

thematthew wrote:Just making sure, but if I have Sneak Attack
Sneak Attack wrote:Once per round, when you make a single target attack against a creature that is suffering from vulnerability, you may have that attack deal an additional 1d6 damage.

Does the additional damage apply to attacks that don't do damage, but still have a target, such as Grievous Wound?
Grievous Wound wrote:Choose one;
A) Target creature suffers 1d8 ongoing damage (save ends).
B) Roll a d8. If target creature is suffering from ongoing damage, increase that damage by half the result..

Edit: Also, shouldn't Blinding Soul have a duration?

If the move is classified as an "Attack" Then yes, you can use sneak attack on them.

However if it is a utility, then you cannot.

_________________
Active Games:
AoH2, where the party is climbing an endless tower. Primarily because I've been sick during campaign days.
Ponysona 4, Where all heck's breaking lose
Saint Trotez: Where Snipe is paranoid and snarked at Snarl.
Satisfying Values (Hiatus): Mic is chasing after a Glitch.


Retired or inactive Games:
Too many to count.
avatar
LoganAura
Administrator
Administrator

Gender : Male
Posts : 2925
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 23
Location : Mass

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Ramsus on Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:30 pm

With the change to I've Read A Lot About It, is We’re Just Good At This Stuff also going to be changed?
avatar
Ramsus
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 5688
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 33
Location : California

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Fury of the Tempest on Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:37 pm

Ramsus wrote:With the change to I've Read A Lot About It, is We’re Just Good At This Stuff also going to be changed?

The Racial Talent? Pretty sure it ain't changing.
avatar
Fury of the Tempest
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 4116
Join date : 2012-09-22
Age : 23
Location : ENGLAND!!!!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  sunbeam on Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:49 am

I think they're making "we're really good at this stuff" (2 extra trained skills) to supplement it. When's that coming?
avatar
sunbeam
Epic Pwny

Gender : Male
Posts : 1930
Join date : 2012-10-24
Age : 22
Location : Elsewhere

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Stairc -Dan Felder on Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:02 pm

It's not. As you can use 2 points with a utility talent to get the new double training, the 1 point single training is still balanced. It was the utility talent that was under-powered, not the 1 point racial trait.
avatar
Stairc -Dan Felder
Lead Designer
Lead Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 3092
Join date : 2012-07-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  A1C Bronymous on Fri Mar 22, 2013 4:33 pm

You guys should work on stuff like that for the other 1 point racials. Feline Grace and Waterbreathing are great, but they might sometimes be better applied through a UT (and of course, powered up in some way).
avatar
A1C Bronymous
Air Commander, Equestrian Armies Pegasus Corps, Eastern Skies Command
Air Commander, Equestrian Armies Pegasus Corps, Eastern Skies Command

Gender : Male
Posts : 5698
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 26
Location : Columbus, MS

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Demonu on Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:17 pm

Regarding talents/traits interactions, if I have
Cutscene Immunity
Your conjurations cannot be targeted by enemy attacks until the end of their second turn.
along with
Conjurer’s Pet
When you roll initiative, you may conjure an allied Conjurer’s Pet. It has the following stat block.

Conjurer’s Pet - 20 hp
[0] Bite - Standard Attack
The Conjurer’s Pet deals 1d6 damage to target creature.

[0] Defend the Master - Interrupt Utility
Trigger - An enemy targets you with a single target attack
Effect - The attack targets the Conjurer’s Pet instead.
Can I still have my Conjurer's Pet intercept an attack (with Defend the Master) that is aimed at me in the first round of combat?
avatar
Demonu
Equestrian Honor Guard
Equestrian Honor Guard

Gender : Male
Posts : 699
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 27
Location : Belgium

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Stairc -Dan Felder on Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:53 pm

No, because it's an illegal target. You can't force enemies to break the rules.
avatar
Stairc -Dan Felder
Lead Designer
Lead Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 3092
Join date : 2012-07-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  sunbeam on Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:32 pm

Can you make both a reaction and an interrupt to the same trigger? More specifically, I have two combat talents:
[-2] (Ye Broke Me Flask!) - Reaction Attack
Trigger - An enemy deals damage to you with an attack
Effect - Roll 1d4 and use the indicated effect
1) Deal 1d10 damage to the triggering creature
2) The triggering creature suffers 5 ongoing damage (save ends)
3) The triggering creature is weakened (save ends)
4) The triggering creature is blinded (save ends)
and
[-3] (Misdirection) – Interrupt Attack
Trigger – An enemy damages you with a combat talent.
Effect - A random enemy takes the damage instead.

Can I use both of them them when someone does damage to me? For this specific example, does misdirection negate the broken flask reaction?
avatar
sunbeam
Epic Pwny

Gender : Male
Posts : 1930
Join date : 2012-10-24
Age : 22
Location : Elsewhere

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Xel Unknown on Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:42 pm

Gvien that Flask is a Reaction, and Misdirection is an Interrupt... I assume that triggering Misdirection turns the attack to not be attacking yourself, therefore you can't trigger the Reaction for getting hit. Besides, you can't trigger two moves with the same trigger.
avatar
Xel Unknown
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 7018
Join date : 2012-08-30
Age : 27
Location : Somewhere, nowhere

View user profile http://us3.herozerogame.com/?resource_request=23219_2_1

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Philadelphus on Mon Mar 25, 2013 2:28 pm

What Xel said. Misdirect, being an interrupt, means that you don't take damage yourself, so you would no longer have the trigger needed to use Ye Broke Me Flask!

_________________
Links to all the official sourcebooks in one place.
Optional Talent Specialization for your characters.
avatar
Philadelphus
Designer
Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 734
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 28
Location : Hilo, Hawai‘i

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Xel Unknown on Mon Mar 25, 2013 2:39 pm

And even if it didn't... Last I checked, you can't two moves off the same trigger, so still this would be a no-go...
avatar
Xel Unknown
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 7018
Join date : 2012-08-30
Age : 27
Location : Somewhere, nowhere

View user profile http://us3.herozerogame.com/?resource_request=23219_2_1

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Stairc -Dan Felder on Mon Mar 25, 2013 3:02 pm

sunbeam wrote:Can you make both a reaction and an interrupt to the same trigger?

No, you can activate only one triggered action per trigger.
avatar
Stairc -Dan Felder
Lead Designer
Lead Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 3092
Join date : 2012-07-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Azureink on Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:12 pm

Question: When you use a summoned weapon, you lose access to your basic combat talents, but do you still have access to talents from traits and weapons/armor/trinkets?

Although I guess you would also lose access to your weapon also.
avatar
Azureink
Very Important Pony
Very Important Pony

Gender : Male
Posts : 196
Join date : 2012-08-14
Age : 32
Location : California

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Stairc -Dan Felder on Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:18 pm

Yes indeed. And you don't lose access to your physical weapon, you get to use all your items and traits as usual.
avatar
Stairc -Dan Felder
Lead Designer
Lead Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 3092
Join date : 2012-07-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  ZamuelNow on Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:24 pm

"All characters have a maximum of 30 hit-points"

So... is this the starting HP at level 1? Wording isn't clear on what you actually start with.
avatar
ZamuelNow
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 3284
Join date : 2013-03-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 2 of 40 Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 21 ... 40  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum