Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Page 4 of 29 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 16 ... 29  Next

Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  A1C Bronymous on Thu Aug 29, 2013 1:03 am

If you're under a "roll twice" effect, like from Chain of the Drunken master, and you use Daggerstorm, how does the double roll progression work? Is it:
A) You roll each individual die twice, choosing the higher one, and depending on that you move on to the next?
ex: Roll 4/6, choose 6, then roll 2/9, choose 9, roll 1/3, choose 3, daggerstorm ends.
B) You roll the entire progression one time through, and then reroll, choosing the better one?
ex: Roll 7, then 10, then 5, then 2, daggerstorm ends, and then roll again, 9, then 12, then 4, daggerstorm ends, and choose the better run.

I thought it worked the first way, because daggerstorm treats each roll as an individual die, similar to how electrocution or red requiem are all different die rolls.

For Reference:

Chain of the Drunken Master - 1000 Gold
Armor
While you are dazed, you may roll twice on all die rolls and use either result.

[-6] Daggerstorm- Standard Attack
Roll d12s until you either get a result of 3 or lower or have rolled 5 times. Deal damage to target creature equal to the total die results you rolled this way.
avatar
A1C Bronymous
Air Commander, Equestrian Armies Pegasus Corps, Eastern Skies Command
Air Commander, Equestrian Armies Pegasus Corps, Eastern Skies Command

Gender : Male
Posts : 5720
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 27
Location : Columbus, MS

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Xel Unknown on Thu Aug 29, 2013 1:09 am

I also wonder the answer to this quesiton and simlar talents such as Payday or even the Snicker-Snack attack from the Vorpal Sword. Well not that simlar but just having likely a whole lot of dicerolling all at once. Might get a different answer then the Dagerstorm talent gets...

for ref:
[-X] Payday - Standard Attack
Roll Xd4. Deal that much damage to target creature. For each 4 you roll, you and target ally each gain 1 energy.

Vorpal Sword - 15,000 Gold
Weapon
You may use the following combat talent.

[-7] Snicker-Snak! - Standard Attack
When you use this talent, choose one;
A) Deal 8d20 damage to target creature. If you roll a 20, you may activate all three of your special moves at once.
B) Deal 4d20 damage to target creature and all creatures adjacent to it. If you roll a 20, you may activate all three of your special moves at once.

avatar
Xel Unknown
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 7018
Join date : 2012-08-30
Age : 27
Location : Somewhere, nowhere

View user profile http://us3.herozerogame.com/?resource_request=23219_2_1

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Stairc -Dan Felder on Thu Aug 29, 2013 1:12 am

When you can roll twice, only the chosen roll is considered the official roll. Once that roll is chosen, it can start triggering specials and stuff.

_________________
Looking for an artist right now, one that would be excited to work with me and Kindulas in creating a superhero comic. If you're interested, know anyone that might be interested, or just want to give the script for our first issue a read - enjoy the link below.

My Comic Project
avatar
Stairc -Dan Felder
Lead Designer
Lead Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 3098
Join date : 2012-07-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  sunbeam on Thu Aug 29, 2013 1:54 am

So for Daggerstorm, roll 2d12 until you get less than 3 (twice), but for Payday, you can roll 2Xd4 and pick out the higher numbers. And for Snicker-Snack you roll a whopping 16d20.

Followup: If this is combined with Unnaceptable, do you roll the reroll twice, too?
avatar
sunbeam
Epic Pwny

Gender : Male
Posts : 1930
Join date : 2012-10-24
Age : 23
Location : Elsewhere

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Stairc -Dan Felder on Thu Aug 29, 2013 1:56 am

Rerolls are like redos. It doesn't count as a seperate thing you roll twice. If you get a 1 with Unacceptable, you don't roll twice on that reroll.

_________________
Looking for an artist right now, one that would be excited to work with me and Kindulas in creating a superhero comic. If you're interested, know anyone that might be interested, or just want to give the script for our first issue a read - enjoy the link below.

My Comic Project
avatar
Stairc -Dan Felder
Lead Designer
Lead Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 3098
Join date : 2012-07-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  A1C Bronymous on Thu Aug 29, 2013 10:29 am

Stairc -Dan Felder wrote:When you can roll twice, only the chosen roll is considered the official roll. Once that roll is chosen, it can start triggering specials and stuff.
So for daggerstorm specifically, you would roll each die twice before moving on to the next?
avatar
A1C Bronymous
Air Commander, Equestrian Armies Pegasus Corps, Eastern Skies Command
Air Commander, Equestrian Armies Pegasus Corps, Eastern Skies Command

Gender : Male
Posts : 5720
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 27
Location : Columbus, MS

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  ZamuelNow on Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:01 pm

Kindulas wrote:The following comment has been added to the utility talent "Imposing"

Imposing
You may use your Brawn score in place of your Horse-Sense score when making persuasion checks to intimidate someone.
[*]The check is considered both a "Persuasion" check and a "Brawn" check, but not a "Horse-Sense" check.

This means that, for instance, both Yee-Haw and The Stare can affect a check made this way
So this means that theoretically, you can use Endurance for the Persuasion check, correct?
avatar
ZamuelNow
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 3303
Join date : 2013-03-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Paper Shadow on Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:10 pm

ZamuelNow wrote:
Kindulas wrote:The following comment has been added to the utility talent "Imposing"

Imposing
You may use your Brawn score in place of your Horse-Sense score when making persuasion checks to intimidate someone.
[*]The check is considered both a "Persuasion" check and a "Brawn" check, but not a "Horse-Sense" check.

This means that, for instance, both Yee-Haw and The Stare can affect a check made this way
So this means that theoretically, you can use Endurance for the Persuasion check, correct?
No. It literally means that, when you try to intimidate someone, you use Brawn and not Horse-Sense. You are still making a Persuasion check, so you increase your Brawn roll with your Persuasion Bonus from training and whatnot...

_________________
Ellipses are kinda my thing...

Based Emotion Chart:
avatar
Paper Shadow
Smile Like You Mean It
Smile Like You Mean It

Posts : 3740
Join date : 2012-11-23
Age : 24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  ZamuelNow on Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:20 pm

Paper Shadow wrote:No. It literally means that, when you try to intimidate someone, you use Brawn and not Horse-Sense.
Thing is, Brawn and Sense/Horse-Sense are attributes while Athletics, Endurance, and Persuasion are all skills. I'm trying to figure out some things with the specifics of this.
avatar
ZamuelNow
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 3303
Join date : 2013-03-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Paper Shadow on Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:47 pm

ZamuelNow wrote:
Paper Shadow wrote:No. It literally means that, when you try to intimidate someone, you use Brawn and not Horse-Sense.
Thing is, Brawn and Sense/Horse-Sense are attributes while Athletics, Endurance, and Persuasion are all skills.  I'm trying to figure out some things with the specifics of this.
Okay, imagine this character...

Brawn: 10
Horse-Sense: 5
Cutie Mark and Training in Persuasion

Normally, a character uses his Horse-Sense, +5 in this case, as a base modifier for his Horse-Sense skills, so if he did a Persuasion check, the modifier is +5 from Horse-Sense, +5 from the Cutie Mark, and +3 from the Training, totalling +13 overall. However, if a character with Imposing makes an Persuasion check to intimidate someone, instead of using Horse-Sense as a base modifier, he'll use Brawn, which in this case provides a base modifier of +10. However, you still use the bonuses you gain from any buffs you have in Persuasion, such as your CM or training, because you are still making a Persuasion check. So, you get the +10 from Brawn, +5 from the Cutie Mark, and +3 from the Training, resulting in +18 overall...

_________________
Ellipses are kinda my thing...

Based Emotion Chart:
avatar
Paper Shadow
Smile Like You Mean It
Smile Like You Mean It

Posts : 3740
Join date : 2012-11-23
Age : 24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Ramsus on Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:42 pm

How do the Guardian's Oath combat trait and the Guardian's Oath feature from the Shield of Valor interact? That is, if I subject an ally to my Guardian's Oath from the combat talent does that count as the same kind of Guardian's Oath as the Shield deals with?
avatar
Ramsus
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 5688
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 33
Location : California

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  ZamuelNow on Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:54 pm

Paper Shadow wrote:
ZamuelNow wrote:
Paper Shadow wrote:No. It literally means that, when you try to intimidate someone, you use Brawn and not Horse-Sense.
Thing is, Brawn and Sense/Horse-Sense are attributes while Athletics, Endurance, and Persuasion are all skills.  I'm trying to figure out some things with the specifics of this.
Okay, imagine this character...

Brawn: 10
Horse-Sense: 5
Cutie Mark and Training in Persuasion

Normally, a character uses his Horse-Sense, +5 in this case, as a base modifier for his Horse-Sense skills, so if he did a Persuasion check, the modifier is +5 from Horse-Sense, +5 from the Cutie Mark, and +3 from the Training, totalling +13 overall. However, if a character with Imposing makes an Persuasion check to intimidate someone, instead of using Horse-Sense as a base modifier, he'll use Brawn, which in this case provides a base modifier of +10. However, you still use the bonuses you gain from any buffs you have in Persuasion, such as your CM or training, because you are still making a Persuasion check. So, you get the +10 from Brawn, +5 from the Cutie Mark, and +3 from the Training, resulting in +18 overall...
I can see how utilities based on persuasion (small 'p') fit in to switching over to the Brawn skills but not training and cutie marks in Persuasion (the skill) would apply since I thought that the very point was switching the skills used for the check.  Using both could run into weird quirks like having CMs in both through various racials/destinies and getting double spectacular successes.  Guess we'll have to see what the devs say.
avatar
ZamuelNow
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 3303
Join date : 2013-03-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Stairc -Dan Felder on Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:55 pm

@Ramsus - Please post the gameplay elements under discussion for reference.

@Zamuel - The ability lets you use your Brawn score in place of Horse Sense. You don't get to carry over a skill modifier (training in a brawn skill, CM in a brawn skill, any other crazy benefits), just the attribute modifier. This keeps things marginally more sane.

_________________
Looking for an artist right now, one that would be excited to work with me and Kindulas in creating a superhero comic. If you're interested, know anyone that might be interested, or just want to give the script for our first issue a read - enjoy the link below.

My Comic Project
avatar
Stairc -Dan Felder
Lead Designer
Lead Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 3098
Join date : 2012-07-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Ramsus on Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:13 pm

Shield of Valor wrote:
Guardian’s Oath - Trait
You may use “Guardian’s Duty” without paying its energy cost if the ally targeted by the triggering attack is subjected to your “Guardian’s Oath.” Then remove the “Guardian’s Oath” from that ally.
Combat Trait wrote:
Guardian’s Oath
At the beginning of each turn, you may choose an ally. That creature becomes the subject of your “Guardian’s Oath” until you apply your Guardian’s Oath to another creature. A creature that is subjected to your Guardian’s Oath gains resist 2.
avatar
Ramsus
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 5688
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 33
Location : California

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Stairc -Dan Felder on Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:30 pm

Yes, they do interact as written. However, it's not intended as such. Was supposed to be Guardian's Vow or something, not Guardian's Oath. I'll let Kindulas know it needs eratta.

_________________
Looking for an artist right now, one that would be excited to work with me and Kindulas in creating a superhero comic. If you're interested, know anyone that might be interested, or just want to give the script for our first issue a read - enjoy the link below.

My Comic Project
avatar
Stairc -Dan Felder
Lead Designer
Lead Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 3098
Join date : 2012-07-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Zarhon on Fri Aug 30, 2013 3:04 am

Paper Shadow wrote:
ZamuelNow wrote:
Paper Shadow wrote:No. It literally means that, when you try to intimidate someone, you use Brawn and not Horse-Sense.
Thing is, Brawn and Sense/Horse-Sense are attributes while Athletics, Endurance, and Persuasion are all skills.  I'm trying to figure out some things with the specifics of this.
Okay, imagine this character...

Brawn: 10
Horse-Sense: 5
Cutie Mark and Training in Persuasion

Normally, a character uses his Horse-Sense, +5 in this case, as a base modifier for his Horse-Sense skills, so if he did a Persuasion check, the modifier is +5 from Horse-Sense, +5 from the Cutie Mark, and +3 from the Training, totalling +13 overall. However, if a character with Imposing makes an Persuasion check to intimidate someone, instead of using Horse-Sense as a base modifier, he'll use Brawn, which in this case provides a base modifier of +10. However, you still use the bonuses you gain from any buffs you have in Persuasion, such as your CM or training, because you are still making a Persuasion check. So, you get the +10 from Brawn, +5 from the Cutie Mark, and +3 from the Training, resulting in +18 overall...
A thing to note about this is that, since it counts as a brawn skill and persuasion skill, you can apply both/either "The Stare" (persuasion) and "Yee-Haw" (brawn skills).

A question about Telepathy!

Telepathy – At Will
You can communicate silently with other willing characters that you can either see or that you know very well within 1000 feet.
1) Can your allies freely communicate with you at will by "mentally hailing you" (yelling out to you in their minds, or something?), or must you engage them in a telepathic talk yourself (phone analogy - you have to call them to talk to them, but they can't call you)?

2) Can you hold a multi-person conversation, linking several people in the same telepathic conversation so that they hear each other, or are you forced to "relay" messages between each character, serving as a proxy?

3) Can you mentally contact your allies if they're within range, but either of them are unaware of this - either the telepath trying to contact his ally, or the ally wanting to contact the telepath, with neither of them knowing where each other are, but within the 1000 feet range?
avatar
Zarhon
Smile Smile Smile
Smile Smile Smile

Gender : Male
Posts : 3531
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Ramsus on Fri Aug 30, 2013 3:31 am

As far as I rule as a GM, and this seems to be what others do as far as I know, whether this is the intent or not, Telepathy seems to be used basically as if it were skype with the different being you need a "router" (the person who actually has telepathy) to be in range of each person or else that person won't be able to send/receive messages. As long as they are, everyone is free to pass messages around to any extent and limitations they want, as long as it doesn't exclude the "router".
avatar
Ramsus
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 5688
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 33
Location : California

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Philadelphus on Sun Sep 01, 2013 4:12 am

Ok, two questions about the Element of Loyalty:
Loyalty:
Big Adventure - Magic
Remove all mind-affecting effects from you and all allies in sight. (This works for psychic, intimidation, fear, mind-control… anything that affects the minds of the characters.)
1) Since it allows you to throw off 'mind-affecting effects' such as 'mind-control', can you explicitly use it even when mind-controlled to not want to use it? I.E., is part of its power that it always leaves you with enough free will to be able to trigger its use?
2) Does it provide any sort of extended immunity to any effects it removed, and if so for how long? Basically, if a bad guy mind-controls you and you use Loyalty to throw it off, could he immediately turn around and mind-control you again?

Thanks!

_________________
Links to all the official sourcebooks in one place.
Optional Talent Specialization for your characters.
avatar
Philadelphus
Designer
Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 734
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 29
Location : Hilo, Hawai‘i

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Demonu on Sun Sep 01, 2013 4:35 pm

What happens if you trigger the d12 special of Wild Lightning
12: Use one of the combat talents you brought into battle at random without paying its energy cost.
while wielding a conjured weapon?

Does that bypass the "you cannot use your normal combat talents" restriction or do you have to randomly pick from one of the conjured weapon talents?
(and potentially risk losing your conjured weapon)
avatar
Demonu
Equestrian Honor Guard
Equestrian Honor Guard

Gender : Male
Posts : 699
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 27
Location : Belgium

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Quietkal on Sun Sep 01, 2013 5:39 pm

How does Leaping Lightning interact with "deal +x on your next attack"? Does it count as a single attack, or does it count as 2, as Crescendo used to count as lots of different attacks. If it counts as 2, should things that trigger on single target attacks trigger on the first attack?
Leaping Lightning:
[-3] Leaping Lightning - Standard Attack
Deal 1d12 damage to target enemy and 1d12 damage to another random enemy.
avatar
Quietkal
Element of Harmony

Gender : Male
Posts : 2059
Join date : 2012-07-25
Location : Occasionally

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  ZamuelNow on Mon Sep 02, 2013 6:08 pm

What happens if one of the two characters involved in a Pinkie Promise dies? Are they still bound to the original oath? I would assume yes since that closes the loophole of just killing someone to break a bad deal.
avatar
ZamuelNow
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 3303
Join date : 2013-03-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Zarhon on Mon Sep 02, 2013 6:40 pm

[-1] Sticky Tar - Move Utility
Move your speed. Each space you leave during this movement becomes a Zone of Tar until the end of your next turn. Whenever a creature enters a Zone of Tar, the creature is restrained until the end of your next turn.
[-1] Noxious Gas - Move Utility
Move your speed. Each space you leave during this movement becomes a Zone of Posion until the end of your next turn. Whenever a creature enters a Zone of Poison, the creature suffers ongoing damage 2 and is slowed (save ends both).
These abilities say that whenever a creature ENTERS a zone, they are affected. What if they start/remain in such a zone during their turns (due to you leaving a zone behind where they're standing, from some form of "move through creature" movement)? Are they affected by it immediately (or at the start of their turn, as most zones work), or when they actually decide to move whilst in such a zone (thus triggering the effect), or not at all (assuming they don't move into another space that is free of the zone)?
avatar
Zarhon
Smile Smile Smile
Smile Smile Smile

Gender : Male
Posts : 3531
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Demonu on Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:17 pm

In the tabletop combat traits, some talents are Move Attacks. Are these covered under Standard Action (as it's an attack) or under Move Action?
avatar
Demonu
Equestrian Honor Guard
Equestrian Honor Guard

Gender : Male
Posts : 699
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 27
Location : Belgium

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Xel Unknown on Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:02 am

I'd assume they're move actions... After all that's basically how the minor actions and standard actions do things. So talents that say "move" would be for the move action...
avatar
Xel Unknown
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 7018
Join date : 2012-08-30
Age : 27
Location : Somewhere, nowhere

View user profile http://us3.herozerogame.com/?resource_request=23219_2_1

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Fury of the Tempest on Wed Sep 04, 2013 12:13 am

If I use Under the Aegis to make an AoE attack hit me, does that attack now target me?
avatar
Fury of the Tempest
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 4116
Join date : 2012-09-22
Age : 24
Location : ENGLAND!!!!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 4 of 29 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 16 ... 29  Next

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum