So... Does this do what I think it does?

Go down

So... Does this do what I think it does?

Post  Snagging Roots on Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:03 am

Unless I'm mistaken I think I've actually found a way to break the system, there is really only one thing that stops it.

How does the Spellbook item work? Is is a single time event, or a persistent effect? If I gain a combat talent DURING combat, does the Spellbook bring it into play (or more accurately, does it just start as in play?)?
Spellbook:
Spellbook - 500 Gold
Weapon
When you start a battle with this weapon equipped, you may bring all of your combat talents into battle (instead of choosing 5).

If so, taking the following talent destroys the combat system:
Power Up:
[-3] Power Up - Standard Utility
When you take this talent during character creation, choose a trait that you meet the prerequisites for. You gain the benefits of the chosen trait for the remainder of this battle.
Dangerously Talented:
Dangerously Talented
You gain an additional combat talent and may bring an additional combat talent into battle with you. You may take this trait multiple times.
avatar
Snagging Roots
Cutie Mark Crusader
Cutie Mark Crusader

Posts : 20
Join date : 2012-07-24
Location : Everfree Forest

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: So... Does this do what I think it does?

Post  Xel Unknown on Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:10 am

Oh boy... In fact, yes that does allow you to get ALL THE TALENTS... But not much you can do with that really... Cause you gotta spend three pips and you spend a standard action to do it.
avatar
Xel Unknown
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 7018
Join date : 2012-08-30
Age : 27
Location : Somewhere, nowhere

View user profile http://us3.herozerogame.com/?resource_request=23219_2_1

Back to top Go down

Re: So... Does this do what I think it does?

Post  Quietkal on Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:20 am

It's a one shot effect, not persistent. Just lets you bring everything you know instead of choosing 5 (or 6+ if you already had Dangerously Talented)
Technically you didn't bring the talent you learned from Powering Up to combat, so RAW you can't use the newfound talent or the extra talent slot. However I'd rule that if you're really intent on doing that, sure go ahead and bring that extra talent into combat.
avatar
Quietkal
Element of Harmony

Gender : Male
Posts : 2059
Join date : 2012-07-25
Location : Occasionally

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: So... Does this do what I think it does?

Post  Philadelphus on Wed Feb 19, 2014 2:06 am

Snagging Roots wrote:Unless I'm mistaken I think I've actually found a way to break the system, there is really only one thing that stops it.

How does the Spellbook item work? Is is a single time event, or a persistent effect? If I gain a combat talent DURING combat, does the Spellbook bring it into play (or more accurately, does it just start as in play?)?
Spellbook:
Spellbook - 500 Gold
Weapon
When you start a battle with this weapon equipped, you may bring all of your combat talents into battle (instead of choosing 5).

If so, taking the following talent destroys the combat system:
Power Up:
[-3] Power Up - Standard Utility
When you take this talent during character creation, choose a trait that you meet the prerequisites for. You gain the benefits of the chosen trait for the remainder of this battle.
Dangerously Talented:
Dangerously Talented
You gain an additional combat talent and may bring an additional combat talent into battle with you. You may take this trait multiple times.

So am I reading this correctly, that what you're planning is to use Power Up multiple times per battle to take Dangerously Talented multiple times per battle to get multiple new combat talents per battle?

I'm not super-knowledgeable about combat stuff – you'd need Stairc or someone else who could give a more definitive answer – but I don't think this would work like that. I believe that this goes against the intent of Dangerously Talented (and also exposes a case where it could be worded better), which is to let you gain a specific combat talent when you take the trait. I could be wrong, but that's my understanding of it.

Regardless, as Xel points out, it wouldn't be all that useful. You could trigger it at most once every two turns (and that's assuming you aren't using anything else but a +3 energy booster, including the new talents you're spending energy to bring in), and few battles go long enough to make getting more than one new talent more useful than simply using the talents you already have.

_________________
Links to all the official sourcebooks in one place.
Optional Talent Specialization for your characters.
avatar
Philadelphus
Designer
Designer

Gender : Male
Posts : 734
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 29
Location : Hilo, Hawai‘i

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: So... Does this do what I think it does?

Post  Crystalite on Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:10 am

Agreed. It's a little weird, because you could (by your own ruling) take any talent you wanted, but you're not going to be able to pull this off frequently enough without specialising.

Moreover, that's not how I'd rule it. I'd rule that you would have to select a Talent for Power Up to bring along when you take it... rendering the whole combo a pointless waste of Energy.

In other words, it needs re-wording certainly, but no.
avatar
Crystalite
Celestia's Disciple

Posts : 2898
Join date : 2013-10-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: So... Does this do what I think it does?

Post  Paper Shadow on Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:29 am

Yeah, this combo doesn't work too well in terms of efficiency, but before this I've never thought of using Power Up on traits you can take multiple times. Put this on Backstab and you can give yourself a bit more damage (you can still use a minor action for the attack that turn), but it will really shine on Improved Presence...

_________________
Ellipses are kinda my thing...

Based Emotion Chart:
avatar
Paper Shadow
Smile Like You Mean It
Smile Like You Mean It

Posts : 3740
Join date : 2012-11-23
Age : 24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: So... Does this do what I think it does?

Post  Snagging Roots on Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:34 am

Crystalite wrote:Moreover, that's not how I'd rule it. I'd rule that you would have to select a Talent for Power Up to bring along when you take it... rendering the whole combo a pointless waste of Energy.
All questions of efficiency aside, Power Up does not grant a talent but rather a trait.

I'm actually not trying to use this crazy game-twisting combo, I'm using Power Up to gain the following trait.
Rapid Recovery:
Rapid Recovery
At the beginning of your turn, if you have less than 4 energy you gain 1 energy.
This is actually a really fun use of it, imo. It combos well with Blood Pact and Hierophant Armor, see below, to keep your PiPs from dropping too low in some builds...
PiP Pumping:
[-1] Blood Pact - Minor Utility
For the rest of the battle, at the beginning of your turn, you gain 1 energy and then lose 1
HP for each energy you have.

[-3]Power Up - Standard Utility:
Rapid Recovery
At the beginning of your turn, if you have less than 4 energy you gain 1 energy.

Hierophant Armor - 2000 Gold
You have regeneration 4.

Anyway... I think I've gotten a bit off topic, sorry.
avatar
Snagging Roots
Cutie Mark Crusader
Cutie Mark Crusader

Posts : 20
Join date : 2012-07-24
Location : Everfree Forest

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: So... Does this do what I think it does?

Post  Xel Unknown on Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:54 am

Yes that combo would be viable. And this topic is seeing if you got an idea of how some traits combo with with talents... So I say you understand things and aren't going "off topic" from the real topic of this chat-line. :3
avatar
Xel Unknown
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 7018
Join date : 2012-08-30
Age : 27
Location : Somewhere, nowhere

View user profile http://us3.herozerogame.com/?resource_request=23219_2_1

Back to top Go down

Re: So... Does this do what I think it does?

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum