Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Page 1 of 29 1, 2, 3 ... 15 ... 29  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  SparkImpulse on Sat Aug 17, 2013 8:43 pm

Ramsus wrote:*shrug* I can't say I agree with that pain. We get too few Utility talents
Necro'ing this comment because the campaign I'm running, I use sanity loss rules ... which eventually catch up with Derp so it makes a lot of sense because of the protection it provides -- your crit-fails don't change the way you play your character for a long time.

Outside of sanity rules, though, I'm not sure I'd take it. In fact, for all the characters I've rolled up (including the one I'm using (derp) I didn't take 'derp' ... and I don't feel there's room for it in the standard game, even min-maxing for most build types.

Edit: I'm not sure if that's a question, or an answer. If it answer's someone's question, then yay!


Last edited by SparkImpulse on Sat Aug 17, 2013 9:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
avatar
SparkImpulse
Very Special Somepony
Very Special Somepony

Gender : Male
Posts : 239
Join date : 2013-05-13
Age : 41
Location : Washington

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  ZamuelNow on Sat Aug 17, 2013 8:45 pm

Can the Virtue of Tenacity be used to double up on refreshing one utility or does it need to be two different utilities?

Virtue of Tenacity:
Tenacity - Magic
Fully recharge all uses of up to two of your X/Day utility talents.
avatar
ZamuelNow
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 3283
Join date : 2013-03-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Doc pseudopolis on Sat Aug 17, 2013 9:43 pm

If I use the Magic element to get Steady Hoofed//Handed while I still have a magic point (Such as using magic through Spellchild or having an extra magic point from Derp) what happens to any magic points I have. Is it even possible to use magic to get Steady Hoofed//Handed while I have a magic point?
Talent for reference:

Steady Hoofed//Handed – Magic Drain
Whenever you would roll a natural 1 on a d20 outside of combat, you may reroll the die with a +5 bonus. You cannot have magic points. You may only take 1 Magic Drain talent.

Doc pseudopolis
Best Pony
Best Pony

Gender : Male
Posts : 1175
Join date : 2012-08-13
Age : 25
Location : UK

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Quietkal on Sat Aug 17, 2013 11:02 pm

ZamuelNow wrote:Can the Virtue of Tenacity be used to double up on refreshing one utility or does it need to be two different utilities?

Virtue of Tenacity:
Tenacity - Magic
Fully recharge all uses of up to two of your X/Day utility talents.
I'd hazard it has to be 2 different talents.
Even if you could use both on the same talent, it'd refill the talent and then attempt to refill it again without you having a chance to expend any uses.
avatar
Quietkal
Element of Harmony

Gender : Male
Posts : 2059
Join date : 2012-07-25
Location : Occasionally

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Sefton on Sun Aug 18, 2013 6:03 pm

Hm.....Hey there ^^'' New guy here, and I'm having some trouble making a profile for a character..... Combat Traits mean the same as Combat Talents? English is not my first language, I think I'mi ssing something on the player's handbook....@@
avatar
Sefton
Cutie Mark Crusader
Cutie Mark Crusader

Gender : Male
Posts : 20
Join date : 2013-08-18
Age : 21

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Ramsus on Sun Aug 18, 2013 6:07 pm

Combat Talents and Combat Traits are two separate concepts.
avatar
Ramsus
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 5688
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 32
Location : California

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Xel Unknown on Sun Aug 18, 2013 6:08 pm

Um... No... There are Combat Talents which are basically a set of 8 Talent that you use to make your combat build. Then there are Combat Traits which you take by either by getting Items that give you Traits and/or at most level ups.

Edit: Ninja'd
avatar
Xel Unknown
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 7018
Join date : 2012-08-30
Age : 27
Location : Somewhere, nowhere

View user profile http://us3.herozerogame.com/?resource_request=23219_2_1

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Kindulas on Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:13 pm

Basically, the word "Talent" refers to something you do, hence the Combat Talents being the moves you use in battle. "Trait" is something about you, a quality you have. So, Combat Traits are things you take at certain levels to make you more powerful in combat. You get 8 basic "Talents" at level 1, and you don't get more unless you take things that give you more. The Traits you don't get at level 1, but you get more and more as you level - they're just like items, except you don't have to equip them and they don't have differing costs.
avatar
Kindulas
Designer
Designer

Posts : 636
Join date : 2012-12-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  XandZero2 on Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:54 am

Hey guys,

-I posted this in the combat talent section of the site because I couldn't find this thread at first (it's been a while since I asked a question), but I do have a quick question about Midnight's Blade and "once per turn" abilities in general, and I'd love to get some official feedback if possible.

My question is this: What does "once per turn" truly mean? Does it mean once per player turn (the 'player' here being the person who activated the ability [Midnight's Blade for instance] in the first place)? Or does it mean once per round, or even once per every individual PC and NPC combatant's turn in the round? I was told it was the latter interpretation, but I wanted to be sure as that drastically changes the way I'd originally thought the ability worked.

Thanks for your time!
avatar
XandZero2
Best Pony
Best Pony

Gender : Male
Posts : 1219
Join date : 2012-07-23
Age : 29
Location : Baton Rouge, LA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Kindulas on Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:05 am

XandZero2 wrote:Hey guys,

-I posted this in the combat talent section of the site because I couldn't find this thread at first (it's been a while since I asked a question), but I do have a quick question about Midnight's Blade and "once per turn" abilities in general, and I'd love to get some official feedback if possible.

My question is this: What does "once per turn" truly mean? Does it mean once per player turn (the 'player' here being the person who activated the ability [Midnight's Blade for instance] in the first place)? Or does it mean once per round, or even once per every individual PC and NPC combatant's turn in the round? I was told it was the latter interpretation, but I wanted to be sure as that drastically changes the way I'd originally thought the ability worked.

Thanks for your time!
Technically, that would mean once per each turn in a round, allowing you to use it on each turn in the initiative order. However, it really should be 1/Round I believe, probably being a relic of the talent's age
avatar
Kindulas
Designer
Designer

Posts : 636
Join date : 2012-12-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Ramsus on Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:14 am

1/round would basically eliminate the only reason anyone ever takes that talent anymore though.
avatar
Ramsus
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 5688
Join date : 2012-07-19
Age : 32
Location : California

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Kindulas on Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:04 am

Ramsus wrote:1/round would basically eliminate the only reason anyone ever takes that talent anymore though.
Yeah probably, it has fallen behind as a relic. I wonder, possibly if it's okay to do that since you can't abuse it with classic multiattackers. Though as I understand Inky Quills was known for reaction-based multiattackers. Such a build probably wouldn't be happy having to use a -7 standard, but more than double the effect of Expert Duelist on a reaction-blast build sounds crazy. You'd need to trigger the +6 damage 3.61 times to get the appropriate power off of a -7 standard, so if you +3 then use it second turn... you'd be out of pips, so you'd only get going half way through the battle, though Energizer Amulets and/or Ritual Knife would be an easy fix... though that also goes to show how lackluster the talent is if it were 1/Round, since using it turn 2 and not triggering it until rounds 3, 4 and 5 makes... well actually that does make 18 damage, about 3.5 under expected + the rerolling ability, and Ritual Knife, or actually even Gather Energy for a +4 into Midnight's Blade + whirling blades would allow you to proc it 4 times, which is technically over the curve but given the time delay it's not too much. So, looking at it's capabilities I would say there's actually nothing wrong with MB as the 1/Round it's probably supposed to be. I can get Dan to clarify the intention nonetheless, however.
avatar
Kindulas
Designer
Designer

Posts : 636
Join date : 2012-12-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  XandZero2 on Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:11 pm

Thanks for the timely reply Kindulas!

I guess we'll run with it how it's written then, at least for the time being, but if Dan could clarify too that would be really appreciated.
avatar
XandZero2
Best Pony
Best Pony

Gender : Male
Posts : 1219
Join date : 2012-07-23
Age : 29
Location : Baton Rouge, LA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  A1C Bronymous on Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:28 pm

[-2] Condemn - Standard Utility
Target creature is subjected to your Condemnation (save ends). While subjected to your Condemnation, you deal 1d8 damage to the creature whenever it attacks.
Does this damage:
a) count as an attack ("you deal damage" being the confusing wording)?
b) happen before the enemy attacks (as an interrupt) or after (as a reaction)?
avatar
A1C Bronymous
Air Commander, Equestrian Armies Pegasus Corps, Eastern Skies Command
Air Commander, Equestrian Armies Pegasus Corps, Eastern Skies Command

Gender : Male
Posts : 5661
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 26
Location : Columbus, MS

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Kindulas on Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:45 pm

Bronymous wrote:
[-2] Condemn - Standard Utility
Target creature is subjected to your Condemnation (save ends). While subjected to your Condemnation, you deal 1d8 damage to the creature whenever it attacks.
Does this damage:
a) count as an attack ("you deal damage" being the confusing wording)?
b) happen before the enemy attacks (as an interrupt) or after (as a reaction)?
1) no
2) It isn't clear, we'll have to ask what Dan's intention was, and he's even busier than normal lately
avatar
Kindulas
Designer
Designer

Posts : 636
Join date : 2012-12-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Demonu on Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:12 pm

A question regarding mechanics/rules:

What happens if you have Personal Project and use it to take Companion and Companion telepathy?

Do you have to roll a d100 every time your companion does something/use a racial or if you speak to it telepathically? Because if so, Companion turns into make-shift suicide bomber every extended rest.
avatar
Demonu
Equestrian Honor Guard
Equestrian Honor Guard

Gender : Male
Posts : 699
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 27
Location : Belgium

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Kindulas on Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:17 pm

Demonu wrote:A question regarding mechanics/rules:

What happens if you have Personal Project and use it to take Companion and Companion telepathy?

Do you have to roll a d100 every time your companion does something/use a racial or if you speak to it telepathically? Because if so, Companion turns into make-shift suicide bomber every extended rest.
That's... that's a weird one, probably comes down to something you'd talk to your DM about how to work. I would probably say that the companion is the invention, but like you say it becomes a suicide bomber. While incredibly clever and awesome, it can get into combat oddities if you try to send it in to bash down some HP before combat initiates. If I was your DM I'd probably ban using it that way, though remorsefully. Honestly, I can see that racial being restricted to things with X/Day-Session uses
avatar
Kindulas
Designer
Designer

Posts : 636
Join date : 2012-12-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Hayatecooper on Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:59 pm

With Personal Project, can you use one of it's UT's to take a UT your character has?
For example Personal Project has.. I don't know Instant Party and Flame On
Can your character then in the normal UT section take Instant Party and Flame on?

Also with Adaptable(3) - 1/day
Choose a racial of three of less, adaptable becomes that

Can you use that to pick a racial you already have?
avatar
Hayatecooper
Equestrian Honor Guard
Equestrian Honor Guard

Gender : Male
Posts : 549
Join date : 2012-08-03
Age : 24
Location : Brisbane Australia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Kindulas on Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:24 am

Hayatecooper wrote:With Personal Project, can you use one of it's UT's to take a UT your character has?
For example Personal Project has.. I don't know Instant Party and Flame On
Can your character then in the normal UT section take Instant Party and Flame on?

Also with Adaptable(3) - 1/day
Choose a racial of three of less, adaptable becomes that

Can you use that to pick a racial you already have?
As a general rule, you can't have two of the same trait/talent - it's not just that you can't take them as part of character creation, these tricks don't work either.
avatar
Kindulas
Designer
Designer

Posts : 636
Join date : 2012-12-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Hayatecooper on Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:33 am

Didn't think so, but not harm in checking.
avatar
Hayatecooper
Equestrian Honor Guard
Equestrian Honor Guard

Gender : Male
Posts : 549
Join date : 2012-08-03
Age : 24
Location : Brisbane Australia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Kindulas on Tue Aug 20, 2013 2:52 am

Midnight Blade should, in fact, be once per round, but we get that it could definitely use some sprucing-up.
avatar
Kindulas
Designer
Designer

Posts : 636
Join date : 2012-12-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Xel Unknown on Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:11 am

Kindulas wrote:Midnight Blade should, in fact, be once per round, but we get that it could definitely use some sprucing-up.
Also Midnight Blade should become a minor action... Given how every other talent akin to it is a minor action to use...
avatar
Xel Unknown
Freakin' Alicorn Princess

Gender : Male
Posts : 7018
Join date : 2012-08-30
Age : 27
Location : Somewhere, nowhere

View user profile http://us3.herozerogame.com/?resource_request=23219_2_1

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  A1C Bronymous on Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:46 pm

Kindulas wrote:
Bronymous wrote:
[-2] Condemn - Standard Utility
Target creature is subjected to your Condemnation (save ends). While subjected to your Condemnation, you deal 1d8 damage to the creature whenever it attacks.
Does this damage:
b) happen before the enemy attacks (as an interrupt) or after (as a reaction)?
2) It isn't clear, we'll have to ask what Dan's intention was, and he's even busier than normal lately
Bump for definite answer.
avatar
A1C Bronymous
Air Commander, Equestrian Armies Pegasus Corps, Eastern Skies Command
Air Commander, Equestrian Armies Pegasus Corps, Eastern Skies Command

Gender : Male
Posts : 5661
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 26
Location : Columbus, MS

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Demonu on Tue Aug 20, 2013 6:50 pm

Are there any restrictions on

The Rainbow Dash - 1/Day
For the next three seconds, you may move at a speed up to 30 miles per second. Moving this fast is extremely dangerous, meaning you may only carry one person at a time while moving at these speeds. When you use this talent - you may spend a Magic Point to increase this speed to 60 miles per second instead.

Or does it essentially turn you into The Flash for 2 seconds?
avatar
Demonu
Equestrian Honor Guard
Equestrian Honor Guard

Gender : Male
Posts : 699
Join date : 2012-07-18
Age : 27
Location : Belgium

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Kindulas on Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:18 pm

Demonu wrote:Are there any restrictions on

The Rainbow Dash - 1/Day
For the next three seconds, you may move at a speed up to 30 miles per second. Moving this fast is extremely dangerous, meaning you may only carry one person at a time while moving at these speeds. When you use this talent - you may spend a Magic Point to increase this speed to 60 miles per second instead.

Or does it essentially turn you into The Flash for 2 seconds?
The restriction is your reflexes don't necessarily become flash level, so don't use it in crowed places...
avatar
Kindulas
Designer
Designer

Posts : 636
Join date : 2012-12-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ask a Simple Question - Get a Simple Answer

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 29 1, 2, 3 ... 15 ... 29  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum